The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

30 Nov

PJOFor one, Gods are completely, totally not real.

Or, at least, that’s what Percy Jackson always believed. He thought that he was just a “troubled” kid, gift-wrapped with a good ol’ dose of ADHD and dyslexia. A pain in the backside, but at least he was normal by some standards (just ask his old counselor, Mrs. Campbell. She couldn’t stop talking about how he was not an oddball, and even kinda normal.)

But, then bad things get worse when his teacher, Mrs. Dodds, tries to rip out his throat with her wrinkly talons. And he thought Math Homework was a killer! He finds out what he really is- a demigod; part human and part god (and yes, one hundred freaking percent mortal. Some dreams never come true.), he never felt more freakish. But, there are many more just like him, and soon he finds out he’s “destined for greatness.” Whatever. He just wants to live to next year.

********

I first read this book in fourth grade. I was a bit hesitant at first, but now I claim to be a fellow demigod, myself. Growing up with Percy Jackson is something that will always be a part of me. I was there when he uncapped Anaklusmos for the first time, when he learned the truth about who he was. Anytime my favorite male demigod did something, I lived it too.

And, yes, I could see how some people would put it on the shelf with your fairy tales and Junie B. Jones’s,  but I honestly find it a comfort read. Oh, well. Some people are just lost souls, I guess.

Out of ten, I give this book an eleven, and that’s saying something.

Leave a Reply

